The Great Canadian Healthcare Debate

HealthCareCAN and the Canadian College of Health Leaders are delighted to host the annual Great Canadian Healthcare Debate.

Building on the success of the past four years, the 5th annual Great Canadian Healthcare Debate will engage Canadians across the country beyond the four walls of the conference.

With the 43rd Canadian federal election looming as an important opportunity to drive health policy, the 2019 Great Canadian Healthcare Debate will be informed by a public opinion poll on Canadians’ greatest healthcare concerns, offering an opportunity for patients, patient care providers, health leaders and the general public to weigh in on the issues that matter most to them. On the afternoon of June 10th (day one of the conference), debaters from across Canada will represent various perspectives including patients, clinicians, health leaders and politicians. A lively debate will engage conference delegates on the innovation and action needed now to transform health in Canada. Be part of the Great Canadian Healthcare Debate where you can weigh in on the issues that matter most to health leaders, providers, patients and all Canadians!

André Picard – Health Reporter and Columnist, The Globe and Mail


David Coletto – CEO and Founding Partner, Abacus Data

Julie Drury – Chair, Patient and Family Advisory Council, Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care

Dr. Danielle Martin – Executive Vice-President and Chief Medical Executive, Women’s College Hospital

Philippe Couillard – Former Minister of Health (2003-08) and Premier of Quebec (2014-18)

*Program and Policy Advisory Committee Members – Wendy Nicklin, CHE, FACHE (Chair); Roger A Boyer II, CHE; Diane Browne, CHE; Bonnie Cochrane, CHE; Stevie Colvin; Huda Idrees; Alice Kennedy, FCCHL; Jennifer McCue, CHE; Robin McGee; PJ Mierau; Patrick Dumelie; Dr. Bernard Leduc; Jennifer Pougnet, CHE; Chris Power, CHE; and Dr. Jennifer Zelmer

NHLC: Paul-Émile Cloutier; Alain Doucet; Jonathan Mitchell, CHE; and Claire Samuelson.

Debate exclusive sponsor:


Powered by Khore by Showthemes