Dr. Cornelia (Nel) Wieman Senior Medical Officer, Mental Health & Wellness, First Nations Health Authority

Dr. Cornelia (Nel) Wieman

Dr. Cornelia (Nel) Wieman works for the First Nations Health Authority (FNHA) in Vancouver, BC in the Office of the Chief Medical Officer as Senior Medical Officer, Mental Health & Wellness. She is an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University.

Nel is Canada’s first female Indigenous psychiatrist (Anishnawbe – Little Grand Rapids First Nation, Manitoba). She completed her medical degree and psychiatry specialty training at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario.

She provided psychiatric services at a community mental health clinic based on the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory. She was a member of the Advisory Group on Suicide Prevention that developed a national framework document for the AFN and FNIHB addressing the issue of First Nations youth suicide. She was the Co-Director of the Indigenous Health Research Development Program and an Assistant Professor in the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto. She has been a co-investigator on several initiatives funded through the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) – Institute of Aboriginal Peoples Health including the National Network of Aboriginal Mental Health Research (NNAMHR). In 2007, she was appointed to the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Governing Council. She served on the Indspire Foundation’s Board of Directors.

From 2013-17, she was a staff psychiatrist at the Centre for Addictions and Mental Health (CAMH) working in various programs including the Aboriginal Services Unit, Telepsychiatry Service, Crisis Clinic and General Assessment Clinic. She was the Faculty Advisor to the Indigenous Students Health Sciences Office at McMaster University (2016-17). She is serving as President of the Indigenous Physicians Association in Canada for a three-year term (2016-19).

She is an Indspire Achievement Award Laureate (1998), recognized for career achievement in the category of medicine. She was the inaugural recipient of the University of Waterloo’s Faculty of Applied Health Sciences Alumni Achievement Award. In 2013, she received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.


Powered by Khore by Showthemes